It’s Not About the Destination, it’s About the Journey

Way back in the day when I was a senior in high school..(and yes way back for me because I graduated in the first decade of the 2000s), we had a graduation tradition where a distinguished teacher would read Dr. Seuss’ “Oh The Places You’ll Go” to us. Now, on the brink of graduating college, I look back on this and realize that there is more than one interpretation of “places”. Mostly you think of physical location– going to a new state, city, school, or environment, but there is a big variety of emotional “places” you go through in college that people forget to mention. This journey is the one that people refer to when they say that college is the time for you to discover yourself.

People tend to think that this self-discovery is done mostly through actions- trying new things, meeting new people etcetera, and while that is definitely true, it is crucial to mention that is about how these actions make you FEEL that really is the most influential factor to self-discovery. EMOTIONS is the key word. An area that many people are afraid to talk about because it’s so personal but it’s so very necessary.

As FN Majors, from the start you’re told how academically demanding the major is, how competitive internships are, how important GPA is– especially for those DPD classes. Of course there’s variety in difficulty depending on your option/emphasis, but overall our classes are hard. What is also difficult is the emotional roller coaster that come along for the ride while we’re taking these classes– unless you’re one of the lucky few who hasn’t experienced those at all. If you haven’t experienced the emotional ups and downs that comes with classes like ochem, metabolism, MNT, etc yet then let me tell you to be prepared. At the same time I want to also let you know I’m not trying to discourage you or tell you it’s impossible and that you’re going to fail, what I’m trying to tell you is that it’s normal.

All of us are unique, and as such we handle our academic challenges differently. I for one am a “perfectionist” type when it comes to classes. I set myself to a high standard and sometimes I can be too hard on myself– I am always out to “better my best”.

Leave a Reply

