Going, Going……Still Here?

I already know what giving up feels like, I want to see what happens when I don’t.

After 5 weeks, I wish I had more positive results to share with you. Making a lasting change is hard, especially when life decides to get in the way. Personally, getting to the gym is the hardest for me because time management is not my forte; just ask Dr. Edens! I think the nutrition component is probably the easiest, as we are constantly reminded of the pros and cons of different foods. All in all, I’ve worked out a total of 2 days since starting the program! Slow and steady; that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

As for career preparation, I have become a member of two associations (The National Association of Nutrition and Foodservice Professionals and California School Nutrition Association), I am putting together application packets to send out to prospective employers, and graduation gear is in my little graduate hands! But my second-to-last article isn’t meant to be a whiny diary entry.

slow progress

What’s more important to take away from this is that hardships are going to get in the way of your goals. There will always be something that knocks you on your butt and makes you think you should stay there. But by picking yourself up and pushing on, positive changes will be made. Now that my distractions are out of the way (moving into a new house, plumbing issues causing us to stay in a hotel, and a dog with an ear infection, just to name a few), it’s time to make friends with the gym again! Transformation does take time and patience, but serious changes need to be made. That means doings things I don’t usually do. Because those usual things got me here in the first place. Hopefully, if any of you are also struggling with toxic situations weighing you down, you are encouraged to keep up the good fight. People all around you are probably going through the exact same things, feeling the same feelings, and needing the same support and encouragement. So carry on, my friends, you’ll get there.

shortcuts

2 thoughts on “Going, Going……Still Here?

  1. Thank you for sharing and I agree with you. I went from not being able to run a simple mile last winter quarter to being able to run 2 miles in 20 minutes which has taken a good amount of time and a lot of personal motivation. I try to at least run twice a week because of how busy I am, but something is always better than nothing!

Leave a Reply

